Custom iPhones

Privacy

Privacy is built into the products you purchase, this is from the moment you open your new device to every time you use an app. Learn more about our approach to privacy.

Privacy

Privacy is built into the products you purchase, this is from the moment you open your new device to every time you use an app. Custom iPhones takes your privacy seriously, that’s why our products and services are built around keeping your private data, private.

Settings on your products have been carefully designed to put you in control of your data. You can adjust what information is shared, where you share it, and when it is backed up.

Quick Links

iPhone Locked & Using FaceID

Diagnostic Testing

During service, Custom iPhones will need access to your product. This is to ensure that your product is working prior to service, during repairs, and after service.

To ensure that our Repair Specialists are able to perform any necessary diagnostic testing, you have the option of allowing our Repair Specialists to access your product or you can remove your data before receiving service with us.

You do not need to share access to your product, but this will limit the ability to service and repair your product. Custom iPhones will be unable to offer our 90 Day Limited Warranty on products that cannot be accessed during service.

MacBook Pro With Stage Manager

On Mac

If you’re concerned about the security of your data on your Mac during the service, you can setup a Guest User or remove your data, by erasing all content and settings.

Setup A Guest User

You can set up a Guest User for our Repair Specialists to access during service.

 

On macOS Ventura

  1. To change these settings, choose Apple menu > System Preferences,
  2. Click Users & Groups in the sidebar,
  3. Then click the Info button next to Guest User on the right.
    (You may need to scroll down.)
  4. Finally, select the “Allow guests to log into this computer” option.

If a guest is logged in to your Mac, you can’t select Guest User.

 

On macOS Monterey

  1. To change these preferences, choose Apple menu > System Preferences,
  2. Click Users & Groups, then select Guest User in the list on the left
  3. Finally, select the “Allow guests to log into this computer” option.

If a guest is logged in to your Mac, you can’t select Guest User. If the lock at the bottom left of the pane is locked, click it to unlock the preference pane.

Remove Your Data

Use Erase All Content and Settings to quickly and securely erase all of your settings, data and apps, while maintaining the operating system currently installed.

This feature requires macOS Monterey or later and a Mac with Apple silicon or the Apple T2 Security Chip. If you can’t use Erase All Content and Settings, you can contact us for more options.

 

On macOS Ventura

  1. From the Apple menu in the corner of your screen, choose System Settings,
  2. Click General in the sidebar,
  3. Click Transfer or Reset on the right,
  4. Click Erase All Content and Settings,
  5. If you’re asked to back up your Mac before resetting it, you can open Time Machine and back up to an external storage device.
  6. Follow the steps to erase your Mac.

 

On macOS Monterey

  1. From the Apple menu in the corner of your screen, choose System Preferences,
  2. From the System Preferences menu in the menu bar, choose Erase All Content and Settings.
  3. If you’re asked to back up your Mac before resetting it, you can open Time Machine and back up to an external storage device.
  4. Follow the steps to erase your Mac.
Customising The Lock Screen On iPhone 14 Pro

On iPhone Or iPad

If you’re concerned about the security of your data on your iPhone or iPad during the service, you can back up your iPhone or iPad and remove your data.

Remove Your Data

Use Erase All Content and Settings to quickly and securely erase all of your settings, data and apps. Make sure to complete a backup using iCloud or a Mac prior to service.

  1. Create a backup using iCloud, Finder, or iTunes. You can use the backup to later restore your data,
  2. Go to Settings > General > Reset, then tap Erase All Content and Settings,
  3. Follow the steps to reset your product.

To use the Finder to back up, macOS 10.15 or later is required. With earlier versions of macOS or using a PC, use iTunes to back up. If you turned on Find My iPhone or Find My iPad, you may need to enter your Apple ID and password.

If You Can’t Use Your iPhone Or iPad

If you can’t use your iPhone or iPad to erase your product you can do so online. Make sure you have an iCloud backup or Finder backup of your device before you erase your product.

  1. Sign in to icloud.com/find or the Find My app on another device,
  2. Select the device you want to reset and click Erase.
  3. After the device has been erased, click Remove from Account.

Frequently Asked Questions​

A few frequently asked questions about our approach to privacy.

When our Repair Specialists are completing necessary diagnostic testing on your product, they do not access any of your private data, photos, files, or Apps. Some Apps that may be used for diagnostic testing include Settings, Camera, Voice Memos, and Phone.

For more information, please contact us.

You do not need to share access to your product, but this will limit the ability to service and repair your product. Custom iPhones will be unable to offer our 90 Day Limited Warranty on products that cannot be accessed during service.

If you’re concerned about the security of your data, you can erase your product before service.

Our Repair Specialists can help backup your data to iCloud or to a Mac or PC prior to service. We are unable to backup your data to our data storage systems in line with our service policies but we can backup to a provided drive or disc.

Please note that during service, it is possible that Data may be lost. In such an event, Custom iPhones will not be responsible for any loss of Data.

If you give your passcode to us for diagnostic testing, it’s best to change your passcode after service with us. Another option is to change your passcode before service to keep your original passcode secure.

Our Repair Specialists are able to help solve any software issues you may be encountering. We’ll work with you in-store to make sure we solve the issue without accessing any of your private data.